top of page
< Back

American Federation of Teachers New Mexico Announces
Endorsements for New Mexico Legislative Offices

New Mexico’s Legislature Has Opportunity to Continue Progress Towards Improvements in
Public Education, Labor Rights, and Community Well-being

April 25, 2024

April 25, 2024 505-554-8679

Albuquerque – American Federation of Teachers New Mexico President Whitney Holland released the following statement:

“New Mexico’s elected leaders play an integral part when it comes to the health and well-being of our public schools and institutions, our communities, and our working conditions. We believe our slate of endorsed candidates hold a broad and varied swath of New Mexico values. It is important to note that while we may not agree with every lawmaker or candidate on every stance they hold, our endorsements represent a combination of diverse voices who we believe are best positioned to help us achieve legislative goals on behalf of our member educators, students, and working New Mexicans.

“This year, our union chose to implement a two-tiered approach to endorsements, which seeks to recognize and honor those lawmakers who are consistent voices for public educators and the larger labor movement. We look forward to supporting each endorsed candidate and pledge to partner with them in Santa Fe, once elected,” said Holland.

AFT NM Education & Labor Champion Endorsements:
SD 5: Leo Jaramillo SD 10: Katy Duhigg SD 14: Michael Padilla
SD 18: Natalie Figueroa SD 23: Harold Pope, Jr. SD 38: Carrie Hamblen
SD 39: Elizabeth “Liz” Stefanics
HD 6: Eliseo “Lee” Alcon HD 10: G. Andres Romero HD 13: Patricia Roybal Caballero
HD 14: Miguel Garcia HD 15: Day Hochman-Vigil HD 16: Yanira Gurrola Valenzuela
HD 19: Janelle Anyanonu HD 21: Debbie Sariñana HD 24: Elizabeth “Liz” Thomson
HD 26: Eleanor Chavez HD 29: Joy Garratt HD 35: Angelica Rubio
HD 36: Nathan Small HD 37: Joanne Ferrary HD 41: Susan Herrera
HD 42: Kristina Ortez HD 43: Christine Chandler HD 44: Kathleen Cates
HD 46: Andrea Romero HD 47: Reena Szczepanski HD 50: Matthew McQueen
HD 52: Doreen Gallegos HD 68: Charlotte Little

AFT NM Education Ally Endorsements:
SD 3: Shannon Pinto SD 8: Pete Campos SD 9: Heather Balas
SD 9: Cindy Nava SD 11: Linda Lopez SD 12: Phillip Ramirez
SD 13: Debbie O’Malley SD 21: Athena Christodoulou SD 24: Linda Trujillo
SD 26: Antonio “Moe” Maestas SD 28: Siah Correa Hemphill SD 29: Tina Garcia
SD 30: Angel Charley
HD 9: Patricia Lundstrom HD 9: Christopher Hudson HD 11: Javier Martinez
HD 18: Anjali Taneja HD 20: Meredith Dixon HD 22: Fred Ponzlov
HD 25: Cristina Parajón HD 27: Greg Seeley HD 28: Pamelya Herndon
HD 30: Diane Torres-Velasquez HD 31: Vicky Estrada-Bustillo HD 32: Andrew Hernandez
HD 38: Tara Jaramillo HD 39: Gabrielle Begay HD 53: Willie Madrid
HD 57: Michelle Sandoval HD 60: Luke Jungmann HD 69: Michelle Paulene Abeyta
HD 70: Anita Gonzales


AFT NM’s Executive Committee, based on voting records, campaign platforms, tenure in office, and upon the recommendation of AFT NM’s Committee on Political Education, formally issues endorsements in federal, legislative, and state races. Incumbency does not guarantee an endorsement.


bottom of page